Tenderly Love

images6

My dad loved my mom very much. In their mid-eighties, my mom had many health problems. She had cataract with both eyes, diabetes, arthritis, heart disease, and Alzheimer disease.

The time my mom needed to have cataract surgery, my dad took her to the doctor. Her eyes were so hurtful that she couldn’t comfortably open her eyes to walk to the bus station. My dad was holding her hand, guiding her step by step. When they were boarding the bus, my dad held my mom’s hands and walked backwards to board the bus, at the same time, cleared the way for my mom to get in.

Eventually she was hospitalized for her other major health issues. My mom didn’t like the hospital food. So my dad brought homemade food to the hospital and fed her twice a day. His tenderly love toward my mom was so touching to my heart.

In their generation, they did say. “I love you!” What my dad did to show his love toward my mom was worthier than ten thousand words!

~

Daily Prompt: Tender

32 thoughts on “Tenderly Love

  1. You gave an amazing Dad. That’s so nice of him to cook and bring her food. A taste of the home she she was probably missing. Can she see a lot better after her survey? I hope so at least. So maybe she can read a bit if she feels up to it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post. Aren’t we lucky to have parents who love one another. Mine did very much but unfortunately they died young. My mom from a brain tumour at the age of 53 and my dad four years later of a heart attack. They didn’t get to see their grandchildren which is very sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My son-in-law’s mom died of brain tumor about that age three years ago. She missed seeing her grandkids. My daughter is expecting in September. My dad worked too hard to run back and forth between hospital and home, he had a stroke as a result, and passed away 8 months later at 86, my mom passed away 4 months later at 90!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

